+971 52 482 54 12
ev@worldwideaeea.com
Ras Al Khaimah
UAE
|
|
february 2024
The 15th International Workshop on Advanced Materials will start in Ras Al Khaimah
The workshop will be attended by more than 200 world-renowned scientists, researchers and experts in the field of advanced materials
The 15th International Workshop on Advanced Materials (IWAM), organised by the Ras Al Khaimah Centre for Advanced Materials (RAKCAM), kicked off today at the Mövenpick Resort Hotel on Al Marjan Island.

The 15th IWAM Workshop will bring together more than 200 eminent scientists, professionals, researchers and students from globally recognised academic institutions, as well as more than 100 representatives from UAE universities, to discuss the role of advanced materials in shaping the future. The event is once again being held under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi, Member of the UAE Supreme Council and Ruler of Ras Al Khaimah, who will participate in an informal discussion on the importance of advanced materials in addressing the world's critical challenges.

Advanced materials find applications in mobile phones, electronics and energy systems. They include metals, ceramics and polymers (both new substances and improved versions of existing compounds). Innovation in these advanced materials has the potential to revolutionise a range of economic sectors including aerospace, transport, construction and healthcare, reducing carbon emissions and energy consumption in these industries.

IWAM guests include renowned materials scientists from Cambridge University, Oxford University, the University of New South Wales and the Max Planck Institute, as well as Nobel Laureate Professor Andre Geim from the University of Manchester.

As part of IWAM's programme to engage young people in science, more than 500 school and university students from Ras Al Khaimah took part in the Innovation and Sustainable Development competition, designed to inspire innovative solutions to global challenges. The winners of this competition and the recipients of the annual prestigious Sheikh Saud International Materials Science Prize (with a $100,000 reward) will be announced later this week.

Sir Anthony Cheetham, chairman of the Centre for Advanced Materials in Ras Al Khaimah, said: "His Highness Sheikh Saud is committed to harnessing the potential of education and science to drive innovation for human progress and is devoting much energy to the advancement of materials science. IWAM plays a critical role in realizing this vision by encouraging young people to participate in building a sustainable future for Ras Al Khaimah and the community at large, and in laying a solid foundation for generations to come."

Source: https://www.interfax.ru/pressreleases/947080
© 2024 Worldwide AEEA
CONTACT US:

+971 52 482 54 12
ev@worldwideaeea.com

T1-4F-52,
Amenity Centre - RAKEZ
Al Hamra Industrial Zone-FZ Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates

© Worldwideaeea, 2024. All rights reserved.

+971 52 482 54 12
ev@worldwideaeea.com
Рас-эль-Хайма
ОАЭ
|
|
ФЕВРАЛЬ 2024
В Рас-Аль-Хайме стартует 15-й Международный семинар по передовым материалам
В семинаре примут участие более 200 всемирно известных ученых, исследователей и специалистов в области передовых материалов
Сегодня в отеле Mövenpick Resort на острове Аль-Марджан (Al Marjan) стартовал 15-й Международный семинар по передовым материалам (IWAM), организованный Центром передовых материалов Рас-Аль-Хаймы (RAKCAM).

15-й семинар IWAM соберет более 200 видных ученых, специалистов, исследователей и студентов из всемирно признанных учебных заведений, а также более 100 представителей университетов ОАЭ, чтобы обсудить роль передовых материалов в формировании будущего. Мероприятие в очередной раз проводится под патронажем Его Высочества шейха Сауда бин Сакра Аль Касими (Saud bin Saqr Al Qasimi), члена Верховного совета ОАЭ и правителя Рас-Аль-Хаймы, который примет участие в неформальном обсуждении значения передовых материалов для решения важнейших мировых проблем.

Передовые материалы находят применение в мобильных телефонах, электронике и энергетических системах. К ним относятся металлы, керамика и полимеры (как новые вещества, так и улучшенные версии уже существующих соединений). Инновации в области этих передовых материалов способны произвести революцию в целом ряде секторов экономики, включая аэрокосмическую, транспортную и строительную промышленность и здравоохранение, позволяя сократить выбросы углекислого газа и снизить потребление энергии в этих отраслях.

Среди гостей IWAM — известные ученые-материаловеды из Кембриджского университета, Оксфордского университета, Университета Нового Южного Уэльса и Института Макса Планка, а также лауреат Нобелевской премии профессор Андрэ Гейм (Andre Geim) из Манчестерского университета.

В рамках программы IWAM по вовлечению молодежи в науку более 500 учащихся школ и студентов университетов Рас-Аль-Хаймы приняли участие в конкурсе "Инновации и устойчивое развитие", призванном стать стимулом для поиска инновационных решений глобальных проблем. Победители этого конкурса и лауреаты ежегодной престижной Международной премии шейха Сауда по материаловедению (с вознаграждением в размере 100.000 долл. США) будут объявлены позже на этой неделе.

Сэр Энтони Читэм (Anthony Cheetham), председатель Центра передовых материалов в Рас-Аль-Хайме, сказал: "Его Высочество шейх Сауд стремится задействовать потенциал образования и науки в качестве движущей силы инноваций, способствующих прогрессу человечества, и отдает много энергии развитию материаловедения. IWAM играет важнейшую роль в реализации этого замысла, побуждая молодежь к участию в построении устойчивого будущего для Рас-Аль-Хаймы и сообщества в целом и в создании прочной основы для последующих поколений".

Источник: https://www.interfax.ru/pressreleases/947080
© 2024 Worldwide AEEA
Контакты

+971 52 482 54 12
ev@worldwideaeea.com

T1-4F-52,
Amenity Centre - RAKEZ
Al Hamra Industrial Zone-FZ Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates

© Worldwideaeea, 2024. Все права защищены.